Record no.4 Restored

Since my last post on restoration I hadn’t had much time to continue with the restoration and a lot of the progress I made with the rust removal regressed.  Not much I can do in that department other than regular maintenance.  If you remember what the plane looked like, it was a complete mess.

_DSC1040

As you can see in this photo it’s just darn ugly, what I just noticed though the photo shows yellow paint around the Record label.  I don’t recall it being yellow and I’m certain that no record planes ever had yellow painted on them so I’m assuming it’s just the camera getting the colour wrong.

In this next photo you will notice the tote isn’t sitting snugly on the plane body.

_DSC1046

To remedy that I simply shortened the screw.  I guess your anxious to see the improved version, so I’ll just show you the rest of the plane in it’s before state just to refresh your memories of what it was like.

_DSC1042

_DSC1036_DSC1041

And here is the finished version.

_DSC1115_DSC1116-2_DSC1117_DSC1118_DSC1119_DSC1120_DSC1121_DSC1122_DSC1123_DSC1124_DSC1125

Well I did the best I could with the condition it was in, much of it is just pitting.  I removed a lot surface rust even cleaned up the bottom but as you can see much of it returned but the main important aspect of it the bottom is flat to the point that you cannot insert a sheet of paper.

I repainted the inside getting that same colour was a little difficult to find but eventually I did, at first I purchased two blues and were going to mix them to colour match the original but after spraying on the first colour I pretty much nailed it so I left it as is.

I also sprayed the inside replicating as it was originally done in the factory and hand painted the orange around the label.

Unfortunately all of the nickel plating is missing on the lever cap iron.  The brass however polished up very nicely and all the threaded were intact.

The iron was skewed so I had to fix that and the chipbreaker was in excellent condition so I lightly sanded that just to give it even better contact.  I flattened the contact points under the frog and on the plane body as well.

I bought a small sandblasting kit the mini air sandblaster by Blackridge

gla-178-airbrush-eraser-kit-mini-sandblasterI wouldn’t recommend this.  The first time I purchased it hardly any air came out of it as it was leaking through it’s filter.  Ok manufacturing fault so I swapped it over and just left it.  I believe it’s been around 2 months since I last posted on this topic so that’s how long it’s been sitting in it’s box.  Since then I replaced my hose and attachments on my compressor so everything was spic and span, I hooked up the gun and set it to 65psi as recommended worked ok around the knob of the plane and it clogged.  Nothing I could do to unclog it so I returned it again and got a refund.  Always good to keep receipts.

I thought to myself me and machinery just don’t get along, they never seem to work for me.  So instead I did it like I do everything by hand.  The sandblaster would of done a better job had it worked.  I’ve seen a few youtube videos of others using this brand and it seems to work out fine for them.  Maybe I just got 2 bad batches I don’t know anymore whether these companies actually enjoy making flashy commercials or functioning tools, their commercials work but their tools simply don’t.

Your probably wondering if I spray any of my clocks, well I don’t and I only use the compressor to flush out my shop.  Amazing isn’t it these are the remnants of what once was when the marketing strategist had me convinced I needed tools I never needed before.  They were all sold 12 months after buying them and I even made a profit so I lost nothing and gained a lot of valuable lessons in life.

If your system of work methods work then don’t change it for something less efficient which in my case was machinery, but on the other hand if you enjoy using machinery and this works for you then don’t switch to hand tools just to compete with the Jones’s.  What ever method works for you stick to that and you’ll enjoy the craft a lot more.

What about performance, pretty good so far.  The pine I usually reserve for setting up my plane didn’t work too well with it.  It chattered quite a bit even with the sole being lubricated with oil but in hardwoods it worked like a dream.  I love the light weight feel of it and realised the bollocks marketing strategy of heavier planes are easier to use due to it’s mass.  I’ve actually learned that isn’t the case, this much lighter plane is easier to work with than my LN no.4.   Now I not saying that the LN is a bad plane in fact it’s brilliant but I’m just saying that what they are saying isn’t true at all.

I will have a better opinion after using it for a while taking a few shavings isn’t much of an opinion at all.  I’m also going to switch from a no.4 to a 4 1/2 as the 4 is a little too cramped for my hand. Besides you get that extra coverage and slightly get the work done just a little faster, so I’ll be looking for a restorable 4 1/2.

Well this is my first true restoration and I have to admit it was a lot of fun and a lot of work, I’ve learned a tremendous amount during the process and especially on what to look for when picking out my next plane to restore.  The only thing that bothers me with eBay sellers and other antique tool dealers is their version of clean ups.  They make the plane all shiny and new and being in business they cut corners which they could and probably do ruin a perfectly good functioning plane just to make them shiny and new and ready for sale to fetch top dollar.  It would be a lot simpler if they just left them alone and let us do the work.  All planes can be fixed you just need to invest the time and effort into doing it, but obviously if you were to calculate the time it took to refurbish and oldie it would cost you the same as if you purchased a premium replica like the Lie Nielson hand planes or the Veritas non traditional types.  So it’s just a matter of how much you want to do and how much time you want to spend on them not just to make them look all pretty but to be a usable functional tool again which doesn’t sit too well with the tool collectors.  I guess in one aspect of antique they do have a point which we should respect.  There are some tools out there that shouldn’t be restored, they are very rare and from a historical point of view a reflection of humanities achievements and well character.  If we start tampering with these rare tools then we are essentially erasing our past and our future generations will dip out, so consider that before restoring an antique plane or any tool that you know is rare.  Also it’s a good idea to educate yourself by reading as much material as you can on antique tools so if you do come across a rare plane and it is within your financial reach that you don’t restore it.

Thanks for taking the time in reading my blog.

btw for those who read this blog earlier I updated the pictures to reflect it’s real colour rather than what was showing earlier.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Record no.4 Restored

  1. Nice work on the restoration. Looks like it will have many more years of service.
    I agree that these lighter planes are much more pleasurable to use. They seem like more of an extension of my hand than a tool. A lot less tiring to use too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Greg and I agree it is a lot less tiring than the heavier premium planes. Even though I love my LN my wooden jointer performs better and this record also planes effortlessly over my LN. This may raise some eye brows even raised my own but the facts speak for themselves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

