A new saw added

I met a sawyer at the timber two weeks ago and saw one of his many saws he had on display, one particular saw I favoured was a 12ppi crosscut Simonds.  I have been actually looking for one to get those smoother cuts for a while now, the less time I spend shooting means less work.  Well it turns out that saw wasn’t for sale and out of all his saws the best saw he had was another Simmonds as he is a fan of this brand dated 1916-1923 11ppi.  He’s done some repairs to the horn, general cleaning and sharpened it for me.  The saw cost me $105 + $11 for postage and that I think is a bargain.  These saws on eBay would not sell for less than US$223 which is one more excuse to look else where and not rely on eBay as much.

He doesn’t have a website that I could refer you too as this is only a hobby for him, he does it for the passion more so than the dollars.

Connections are important and the best ways to gain these connections is to get yourself off the computer and out into the real world, attend shows, look at the links in the magazines, join forums and woodworking clubs.  Shows and clubs would be the best viable option to get quality goods at normal to even bargain prices.  Swap meets are good as well.

eBay sellers, antique dealers are running a muck, their prices are high and most of them don’t even understand the tool they are selling.  It bothers me very little on whose toes I tread it’s time to speak up and this I can safely say I learned from Paul.  People fear what magazines and tool makers can do but Paul has shown than in fact these conglomerates  have no power whatsoever infact they can neither increase your business nor take it away.  I can name some prominent woodworkers whose skills are unmatched and have been in magazines but didn’t make it in the real world through their craft but are doing other things to survive.  This is the story of generally most people hence why woodworking or let’s say making what we want to make are generally kept on a hobbyists level.  So as you can see magazines didn’t create work for them, museums they worked also didn’t help so what’s to fear.  Paul came out into the open and opened a can of worms that was controversial and went directly against the preachings of every magazine and tool maker out there.  He’s openly attacked majority of the big name brands and yet his popularity has increased more than any other online teacher.  He has well over 1000,000 viewers and that say’s something, I know I’ve gotten off the track a little as I usually do but it is time to make a stand to bring some normality to this world and lower those prices so people can enjoy this craft whether professionally or as a hobbyist.  Just remember this that magazines have everything to fear from the tool makers as they pay for their advertising another words their wage, but we the craftsmen and women have nothing to fear from them because it is we who pay them their wage; without us they cease to exist.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “A new saw added

  1. Enjoy the new saw Salko. Looks like a great one.
    Yep, the selling of stuff does seem to be the focus in the vast majority of woodworking. I have seen many old tools on eBay sell for more than a brand new version from Lee-Nielsen or Veritas. I hate it for those who could get into the craft if not for the current crazy high prices on used tools.

    Like

    1. Your absolutely right Greg and I would like for this monstrosity to stop, I see moulding planes on EBay not truly worth a pinch of salt selling for $55 plus shipping which is to whatever generosity they see fit. For most of us that one moulding plane would cost close to $100. What people don’t realise is that these planes need refurbishment and refurbishing a moulding plane isn’t as easy as a hand plane would be. Buying them new is always a better alternative than buying antique versions but the costs now are even higher and out of reach for the average woodworker. Matt Bickford will sell you excellent quality moulding planes from $3700 to $5000. HNT Gordon will sell you excellent moulding planes for $2000 and he has the best blade release mechanism ever invented but hey reality is Its out of my financial reach. My solution is to make my own and that’s exactly what I’m starting to practice but with my current orders I can’t devote a lot of time to it. If eBay was cheaper I would go in that direction but it’s not so now we have to become tool makers as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

