Amara Rose Part 7

In this video I’m rounding over the base top and bottom of the clock, I’m using a combination of hand planes, rasps, scraper and finally hand sanding.  The results are a very pleasing effect, I hope this video shows that you don’t need any fancy setup of routers or spindle moulders to get the job done.  Mass production work isn’t the scope of this video.

Paul Sellers demonstrated this method in his own video and from memory he was using pine.  Pine is a softwood and easy to work with so you can eliminate using a rasp in this case if you wanted too and just skip to hand sanding to eliminate the facets.

Rosewood being a hardwood with tough end grain requires the use of a rasp, some people like to skimp out on sanding altogether and that’s fine but I like to equally spend the time in hand sanding the parts and go through various grits to achieve different effects.  I prefer hand sanding over handheld sanding machine for several reasons, with a machine besides the obvious of creating additional unnecessary dust a machine isn’t capable of getting into the corners as well a hand can.  You can easily mould your hand over curved work and the correct method after using a sander is to hand sand it using a flat block.  It may seem tedious to do it by hand but it actually isn’t and pretty fast too.

You may be wondering how my new amateur lifestyle is working out, it’s certainly a breath of fresh air and I don’t miss the pressure.  I can say one thing for sure that woodworking is a lot more enjoyable now.

