Waxing

Waxing is an old English polish, commonly used before french polish and varnish were introduced, especially for hardwoods like oak.  If you want to know a little bit about using a polisuer or French polisher I suggest you google Don Williams and have a read on his methods of applying wax polish.  In this blog I only intend writing on how it was once made and still can be made in your own shop today if you so wish and it’s methods of application.  Doesn’t hurt to give it a go as the results may be more pleasing than buying several cans of the stuff of various brands which can add up to be an expensive journey.

Preparation

It’s quite simple one part melted beeswax and one part turpentine or citrus solvent, mix and cool.  That’s it.

Application

Rub a thin layer with a rag, stiff brush (make sure you don’t leave surface scratches) I’ll leave that to your better judgement or apply it using your fingers as the applicator, did I repeat myself twice there lol.  Let it dry for several hours then rub with a cloth, flannel or piece of felt is best.  Put on several coats leaving the work overnight  between coats.  Rub often with a warm cloth.   This method was used centuries ago when they made their own waxes but isn’t necessary if your using modern day waxes or off the shelf waxes.

Final thoughts

As you can see this method goes against you knew about waxing with modern day products.  Modern day products are designed to quicken the process but are we truly achieving the best possible results.  This I will let you answer if and when you decide to make one and give it a try.  There are many great waxes on the market, in the beginning I was amazed with one, Minwax finishing paste minwaxwax till I bought another from E-beaut their Traditional Paste wax and now I’m not so crazy about it anymore.  I’ve actually got mixed feelings about it, it’s good and does what it say’s but I’m not sure whether it’s me and my tastes are changing or if it’s too shiny for my tastes.  I don’t know it kind of reminds me of putting car polish on timber but the bottom line is I haven’t settled on a wax I can truly say I am very pleased with it.  This you can only see after using it for a while atleast upto 12 months and if you still like it; then stick with it.UB-TNEUT

As for making your own I would definitely give it a go, I was in the process of making it when my wife came home early from work and saw me using her saucepan melting beeswax, well it’s not just a saucepan but a Bessemer and no we can’t have that now can we, anyway the results were the reenactment of the Benny Hill show for those who remember it, you Brits will.  So I never got my chance of finishing it but one of these day’s and soon I will buy a cheap saucepan and cook it on my BBQ and let you know the end results..

My next post will be on a new discovery I made, a fool proof method of blotch free staining in softwoods, just when you thought you had nothing more to discover in woodworking.  And just to add to that I was the winner in PW for another discovery I made almost 12 months ago.

With a little thought and experimentation the possibilities are endless.

5 thoughts on “Waxing

  1. Recently I discovered that old timers for common furniture (here in Portugal) call shellac ‘British varnish’ and they used some different ‘recipes’ for finishing and mixed it with oil, wax, etc.
    The cheap version was just wax it! So here there’s a few local wax factories running because people were (not quite any more for people under 30’s) very use to re-polish their beds, tables, floors and so on.
    Also I too like Don Williams as a good reference!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is why is use Tried & True Original. An emulsion of linseed oil and beeswax. While the amount of beeswax is less than with the method that you outlined above, it’s easy to apply. Three or four coats will build a nice coating and the linseed oil acts as a vehicle to draw the beeswax into the pores of the wood. Easy and I don’t risk the wrath of management by using her cookware. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That is impressive, the reason I asked I made a very wall large clock for a bakery and I coated it with Kunos. This oil finish does have beeswax mixed with it and looks beautiful but this clock I made I think was a year or two ago not sure which and I happened to stop by that bakery last week and I saw the vibrancy of the oil and wax completely gone. I know they haven’t cleaned the clock either and I’m not sure whether or not it has anything to do with the shop’s environment but it got me thinking whether or not my other clocks I’ve sold suffered the same. This is a German product that costs through the roof but being a German product puts in the high end scale which is why I bought it. I’m just surprised though that how dull it looks, to me anyway. I’m just fortunate that I used high quality timbers and it still looks good but still I can’t help but wonder it doesn’t retain that same look when I finished it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

