Final tip on turning a burr

There is one more method in addition to all those mentioned in the video which I think works extremely well and that is to lay your scraper flat on your bench over hanging slightly over the edge and draw it out that way as opposed to clamping it in the vice. I found this method to be more effective, with only 3 strokes you can get a beautiful burr.

I’ve always wondered though about having it in the vice due to the compression whether or not your actually compressing the burr on the already established burr on the opposite side, counter intuitive don’t you think . Since I’ve made the switch my burrs has a remarkable improvement.

That’s it folks no more on scrapers….. I think.

Leave a Reply

