Moulding planes cont.

So where do I start, I was racking my brains all day at work trying to remember what I did, and after finally finishing a 14 hour shift I could hardly wait to get back home and do some work on the plane before bed.

I ended up staring at it for a good half hour trying to remember but nothing, so I started knifing in some lines.  As you can see there are two angles, one is called the bed angle which is 55 degree and the other is________ for the life of me I cannot remember it’s name but whatever it’s called is unimportant but what is it has a 65 degree angle.

_dsc1435To saw out those angles precisely you will need a saw guide with those set angles, I have made one 12 months ago and luckily for me I rechecked the angles and found them to be off by as much as 4 degrees.

We all make this fatal mistake when checking something for square or an angle. How many times have we checked an edge for square by leaving it in the vice, yes we’ve all done it and still do.  But if we took the board out and checked it against a light source we would see different results, when a board is small enough to be picked up we should bring it up to the light and when it’s too large have it facing towards your window or if you haven’t one get a torch (flashlight) and check for square that way.  Never just slap your bevel or square on it but gently bring it into contact and this way you will clearly see how off or square you really are.  Remember whilst it’s in the vice it’s dark behind that square so you think its showing square but really it may not be.

_dsc1438

So I went ahead and took my time in making these accurately.  My saw plate will rest against these guides and I should be able to cut very accurately those angles.

Ok so there are two ways that I can make this plane and yes I do remember now what I did differently.  One way is Matt’s approach of sawing those two angles completely through and then planing them flat and smooth all the while maintaining those angles.  If I didn’t remember how I did it the other way, this is what I was going to do.   To make planing those angle accurately I went ahead and made planing guides.

_dsc1437As you see the 55 deg. planing guide that’s how you would have it facing on your shooting board, the timber would butt up against the angle and you would then plane accurately and square.

Once that is done you would take your blank, place it in between the two pieces bring it together and leave a very small gap about 1/16th and glue a piece of whatever you want over the side.  I know I suck at explaining this one properly but I’m tired so just watch a video on laminated planes and you’ll see what I mean.

Ok for my method and here’s the ironic part, I discovered that the French were doing the same thing in the 18th century what I thought I came up with, just goes to show that we all think alike irrespective of the years gone by, but the British dismissed it as inferior.  But it sure beats mortising this out.

Ok, first we measure in from the top 1/4″ from both sides, this will  centre our mortice.  Remember we already made a rabbet, I know I’m not making any sense just look at the picture.

_dsc1436You need to plane down to that arrow keeping square at all times as this a rabbet or rebate. Had I remembered this method earlier I would of sawn down to those lines at least  a 1/16 th off the line and then finish it off with a rabbet plane.

Now saw those two angles using your guide and remember only saw down to the width of your blank.  The blanks thickness is 1/8″ and if you have a small router with a 1/8″ blade you can use that to get through the mouth otherwise you’re going to use a 1/8″ chisel instead.  Once you finished with the bed and sides and everything is flat and square then glue the piece you sawed out earlier but prior to that,  thickness it to a 1/4″ thickness.  For other smaller planes that thickness will vary.  Its important for that rabbet to be square so no gaps show and the whole piece is in contact with the timber.

_dsc1439

This is all the energy I have to write, I know I most probably made no sense but I’m writing with one eye closed, now almost two.  Just bear with me, it will all make sense when I start making the video.  Unfortunately, the blanks I ordered are not in stock and I can’t proceed until I get them as I’m not sure if they will be exactly 1 1/4″ so they can be flush with the sides.  If that made any sense at all.

Night all off to bed.

 

2 thoughts on “Moulding planes cont.

    1. Glad it does writing this was probably the hardest part of this project. Its a darn shame the iron blanks are not in stock. He says about 7-10 days before he gets them in. I’m not waiting for them so I’ll just work off the antique dimensions and if necesaary file the blanks if oversized but if their undersized which I doubt but if so then I’ll have to plane the escapement side down to suit. Either way it will work out. I can’t express enough how excited I am at finally I’m going to own a good brand new set of hollows and rounds

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

