Small Router plane for Sale

The materials I used are American Black Walnut and solid brass for the base, I didn’t use epoxy for lamination of the brass to wood as epoxy is brittle and eventually will break away.
Instead I used loctite 330. Other materials used are Beech with brass inserts for the knobs and Camphour Laurel for the blade holder and lastly a knurled thumbscrew to lock the blade.
The iron is O1 tool steel and hardened to RC62, the primary bevel angle is 25°, the back of the blade has been flattened and the blade sharpened. This blade requires no work and is ready to use out of the box.
The sole of the plane has also been flattened.

This tool as all my woodworking is entirely handmade including the shaping of the iron and it’s preparation not even a grinder touched it.

As this is not a tool making business but just a hobby it’s a one off sale, I had surplus material and didn’t want to see it go to waste and liked it so much I thought I’d build another.
All the proceeds of this sale will go towards building myself a decent workbench.

Price is AUD $140 which includes FREE standard shipping Australia wide only.

Payment is to be made by bank transfer, paypal asks way too much in fees and my price hasn’t been adjusted to accommodate paypal’s demands.

A note to international buyers, shoot me an email handmadeuniqueclocks (at) gmail.com with your zip or postal code and I will get a shipping quote for you.

Having built this project twice you’d think it would go faster the second time round but it didn’t.  Building this plane was time consuming but well worth the effort and I’ve come to appreciate tool makers and understand why they charge what they do.  Even if I used all their fancy machinery I don’t believe I could of built it any faster.

Toolmakers charge accordingly because labour cost is the culprit like in any manufacturing business and if I were to include labour plus overheads, then this plane would exceed $300 easily.  If you think I’m making money on this think again,  I know I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, youtube can be very misleading.  No tool can be made for $10, materials don’t fall from the sky irrespective of which country you live in, the lights in your shop isn’t free, knowledge and skill cannot be downloaded and installed by watching a video.  All of this plus more comes to a hefty price tag, but all of us continue to pay it because we love our craft and will continue to do so because of this love we have for our craft.  So be truthful with yourselves and others and don’t follow the misguided concept of those who mislead others through youtube.  You don’t have to reveal what it cost you , just don’t say it cost you $10 so you can get more subscribers, likes and hits.  By doing so, you are doing a disservice to many businesses out there who are struggling to stay afloat.

Take care everyone.

_DSC1486_DSC1487_DSC1488_DSC1489_DSC1490_DSC1491_DSC1492_DSC1493_DSC1494_DSC1508_DSC1509

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Small Router plane for Sale

Leave a Reply

