Moulding Planes Plans

Today was supposed to be the day when I was going to start on the moulding plane build and I ran into a brick wall again.  I realised with each plane’s different width, the wedge’s thickness will also be different.  Well it was back to the drawing board and instead of just sketching it on a piece of paper, I needed something that a little more accurate and permanent.  With that I mean something I can refer to every time I make a new plane, and I will be making a lot of them.

So I turned to autocad and started drawing away, but before I could draw anything, I needed good reference photos of what 18th century moulding planes look like, and tweak them to suit my build.   So I turned to http://msbickford.com/ and clicked on his hollows and rounds.  IMG_2958_clipped_rev_1These photos served as a base reference point, there’s no measurements I could work from but judging by eye, I know that the smallest 1/8″ plane’s wedge must be about 1/4″ thick and the thickest to be about 3/8″ and I have a plane that has a 1/2″ thick wedge.   The plane I’m currently working on is a no.15 which means it has a radius of 1 1/8″, just what is supposed to be the thickness of that wedge, I don’t have the faintest.  I know just by judging the photo the walls thickness between the chamfers are 1/32″ and if I’m right, which I’m sure I am, that will make the wedge thickness to be 15/32″.  But I don’t have the balls to make the walls that thin, instead I’m going to make it 1/8″ thick which will make the wedge’s thickness to be 9/32″, which is the same width as the tang.  This is only one plane, I still the rest to draw and I wonder if the top half goes down in increments of 1/4″ or less. Without having the planes in my hand to reference from it’s going to be a scratch your head up hill battle.

I don’t know if I should ask him, is it impolite to do so, will he get offended????  Do any of you know how to work out what the wedge’s thickness should be for each plane and what the top half  of the body of the plane’s thickness should be for each plane.  As you can see I’ve only worked out for one, but how do you work it out for each plane?  They go down in increments, but by how much?

Anyway, here are my drawings for the no.15, they are in A3 and in inches.

15 hollow A3 Imperial

15 round A3 Imperial

 

4 thoughts on “Moulding Planes Plans

  1. Do you have the Larry Williams video on making side escapement planes? If not, you should get it, it will answer most of your questions. Wedge thickness is not standardized but 18th c. molding planes had more graduated wedges than did 19thc ones, which tended to use only a few standard thicknesses. Anyway, there is an appendix with a bunch of files in Larry’s video that should tell you all you need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

