No.15 H&R’s Moulding Planes Drawings

I have finally finished all the drawings from No.18 – No.1.  That’s 36 planes in total or 18 pairs. The No.18 has a radius of 1 1/2″ and so it goes down to No.1 which has a radius of 1/16″.

I have based these drawings but not entirely from Larry nor even entirely from James Celeb. These drawings were most difficult to complete, the reasons being that Larry’s dimensions are not accurate.  I’ve had a friend of mine who is a doctor of engineering try to make sense of those dimensions and came to the same conclusion that they are innacurate.  So I’ve had to change them to make it all work, James Celeb drawing of a single moulding plane is correct but he too had to deviate from Larry’s dimensions a little.  Matt Bickford’s planes follows very closely if not identically to Larry’s planes, unfortunately those dimensions he uses are unavailable to me.

The initial base design is the same as Larry’s, Bickfords and Celeb, those base dimensions is an agreed upon consensus since the 18th century and on 18th century planes only.  The issue I had was getting the blind side matching the bodies fullness while maintaining the radius profile.  Believe me this was one mind boggling thing.

While I’ve stuck to the planes typical 18th century design, I’ve opted to change the finial from the typical circular to an elliptical shape with a lamb’s tongue.  In the 18th century there are about 5 different designs for the wedges if I’m not mistaken and the one that appeals to me the most is Thomas Walker’s design.  The elliptical shape is taken from those poxy shoes they used to wear, you know the one with the heels.  To me that looks most elegant for the wedge and it’s not the same shape though but very similar to the 19th century style.  The lamb’s tongue yet adds a touch of further elegance.

18th century planes are slightly longer than 19th century moulding planes, but they are in no way more functional than 19th century planes, it’s very much an aesthetic thing.  To my eyes 18th century planes are a lot more pleasing in design than the 19th century style.

So here’s the thing guys and gals, I’m sure you would want to have all the working drawings for these but I won’t release them all until I have built these planes.  Even though I have double and triple and quad triple checked my work, I still need to see whether or not changes could be made as an improvement.  So far I’ve build one plane the No.16 based on these drawings and it works fine but I want to finish off the rest and if all goes well then I can safely offer them to you and sleep better knowing they are 100% correct.

However, I will not be offering them for free, I don’t know how much I will charge for them but it will be affordable.  I’ve always had good intentions for this blog but considering how expensive this country of mine is, I’m really doing it tough.  I’ve invested a considerable amount of time and knowledge to draw these up, and to offer them for free would be ludicrous.  As far as I know such plans are not available anywhere on the net, I will be the first.  So have a look at the sample No.15 plane, see for yourselves just how accurate and well drawn they are.

15 hollow A3 Imperial

15 round A3 Imperial

5 thoughts on “No.15 H&R’s Moulding Planes Drawings

  1. Not sure if you were able to see the Larry Williams video: “Making Traditional Side Escapement Planes”.
    Larry clearly demonstrates his opinion on the use of a “leaning wedge”. Without understanding this would make the dimensions inaccurate. This was initially discussed (later published in the Fine Tool Journal) on the “Old Tools Mailing List” here is one of the start messages of this discussion: http://swingleydev.com/ot/get/6902/thread/#6902
    You can access the archive of this list and just search for “leaning” at this location: http://swingleydev.com/ot/search/

    There is variant opinion on this idea of an intentional lean to the wedge. However, if you have not seen this video it would answer many of the questions you have posed about grinding and sharpening these tools as well.

    –ps

    Like

    1. After watching this video countless of times I’ve missed this most important aspect of it. Thank you Phil! for pointing this out to me. I’ll now have to go back redraw every plane, I’m still uncertain as I just read this post just how this affects affects the irons. Does this mean that the iron will also have a lean, according now to the drawing it should. Am I mistaken here.

      Like

    1. Ok that’s all well and good but I have noticed some issues regarding the tang with. as I’ve finally finished all drawings this morning according to Larry’s specs, the LN blade for instance the 3/4″ suited for a 9 & 10 the tang is too wide. On larry specs, the tang can be no wider than 5/32, I know one thing in the hand tool world I use my drawings as a guide but in a machinist world if this plane was made entirely with a machine then that tang width from LN would not fit. I’m just going to build the darn thing and see what actually turns out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

