Structural Integrity Paranoia

I built this for my wife oh about two decades ago for her 20th birthday, how time flies. My daughter has this now and it’s in tact and it hasn’t fallen apart nor has the stain faded. It looks the same as the day it was made.

I made it from radiata pine and stained it with rosewood mahogany. The finish I used was my dad’s 15 year old automotive clear lacquer. They say old paint won’t stick but it hasn’t worn off after 20 years unlike the gloss I bought 15 years from a big box store. That’s the difference between industrial made finishes and the finishes made for the DIY’s.

Some of my woody friends said the rails will snap because there isn’t much meat due to the scrolled leaves. I suppose they would of snapped if you stood on the table or even sat in the middle, but if you use it as it’s supposed to be used then it won’t and it hasn’t and never will.

The moral of this story is:

Don’t be afraid to experiment.

Don’t fret too much over structural integrity, even nails (cut nails) will hold a toolbox together for a couple of hundred years.

I build a table back then that 5 ft square, it was a split top hinged lidded table. We used to place DVD’s in one half and children’s toys in the other. It was held together with wooden nails and the tabletop was doweled at 2″ spacing. My kids were jumping on it, dancing and even I who was overweight then stood and jumped on it several times, the darn thing never broke.

If the table was built from chipboard it would of snapped like a twig. If it was built from MDF it would’ve snapped like a twig. That’s why IKEA furniture and any furniture made from chipboard and MDF rarely last very long.

7 thoughts on “Structural Integrity Paranoia

  1. Absolutely!! A whole lot of furniture has been built throughout history with whatever timber was available. There is also just as much furniture that breaks all of the so called “rules”. In this day and age we tend to overthink what we build. Sometimes you just need to go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shame on you Salko!!!
    Making beautiful things that last decades!!!
    By the way, sometimes when I get the chance I stop by that ‘evil store – I??A’ and check the ‘opportunities both’ for soft wood – its cheaper then the ‘big box stores’ – although it is kiln dry wood it works πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Ikea cheaper than big box stores, I thought big box stores was Ikea. Did you know that the term “big box stores” is American. We don’t use that term, we call them by their business names. How’s that for a bit of useless information. lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Probably because being Australian we don’t worry to the same extent about being sued for pointing out the obvious.
        House of Bunwah (Bunnings), Red Spot boutique (Target). You get the idea:) I like the damaged European pine stuff from Ikea and their marked laminated benchtops when I can get them for the occasional project.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Salko i have no academic education, sΓ³ i learned english from american movies. Never the less friends from USA tel me i’m to British, english folks i’ m to ‘mod atlantic’, British people I’m ok with a few bits of american language… i was missing some Ausi feedback… until nowπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

