This is why it costs more


This video is for those who say you can find things cheaper online or elsewhere. What bugs me the most is when something is labelled “handmade,” but the person used power tools like a tablesaw, jointer, thickness planer, and router for intricate details. The truth is, a lot of the mass-produced stuff you find online isn’t even made from real wood. I’ve noticed that when I go to the mall and check out jewellery shops, not one of them sells clocks or jewellery boxes made from solid wood. They’re all made from MDF and stained.

You see me working this bit of timber and I got it ready for the next phase in 9 min 42 secs and this was relatively easy wood to work. What if I worked red oak, that time would double. It is very hard to explain to them something they have no clue about and frankly don’t want to know. They have a figure in their head of what it’s worth to them, and anything else is just moot point. Unfortunately, it is very frustrating to deal with such people.

The purpose of this video is hopefully to educate such people and make them understand.

Leave a comment