My Letter of Gratitude to Paul Sellers

It was you, Paul Sellers, who instilled the passion for hand tool woodworking into the hearts of thousands. While LN and Veritas existed previously, their clientele was predominantly non-dedicated hand tool enthusiasts. Roy Underhill, a revered figure, served primarily as a teacher and host at the “Woodwright School,” while Chris Schwarz, more of a celebrity journalist, often advocated for magazine advertisers, particularly Lie Nielsen. Yet, it was you who pioneered the realm of exclusive hand tool woodworking.

You became the trailblazer, offering online woodworking education that rivalled expensive woodworking schools. Undoubtedly, your teaching prowess remains exceptional, and you accomplished what others hesitated to attempt. In an industry where American woodworking celebrities adhere to a rigid hierarchy, you boldly defied those boundaries, earning widespread acclaim.

Despite concerted efforts to undermine you, especially from the American woodworking elite, you stood resilient. Your zenith predated the era of the “Coronavirus,” a time when the woodworking community faced unprecedented challenges, leading many to falter without recovery. The landscape shifted, marked by surging living costs and grossly inflated timber prices. Amidst adversity, you emerged as a survivor, a champion in your own league.

I believe you are the last of the lot. Your dedication transcends personal success; you sought to make a difference at the governmental level. Regardless of the outcome, what resonates is your commitment to trying. Paul, you have undoubtedly contributed more to the craft than all your counterparts combined.

Having professionally worked with wood since 1998, I experienced a transition for a 12-month period from hand tools to machinery. I felt at the time what I was doing machinery had no place; I felt uncomfortable using them and felt no need to use them, so I sold them for less than what I paid for. However, as my health has deteriorated since then and continues to do so, I am contemplating buying a bandsaw to help in the ripping of boards.

I just wanted to say thank you, Paul, because you never know when it will be too late to do so.

9 thoughts on “My Letter of Gratitude to Paul Sellers

  1. Totally agree,his working life dedicated to his craft,his ability to write at length and keep it interesting, his illustrations,how he can bring perspective to the role of hand tools and work and explain in detail how to achieve results , you can follow his blogs , website at no cost and receive lessons that were restricted to the chosen few in the trade, i have made some of his jigs , restored tools ,his sharpening of chisels and hand irons , well , not for me,he deserves great respect, Cheers Ross

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is heartwarming to hear someone with a louder voice praise the selfless contribution Paul has made to hand tool woodworking and for that matter the lives so many. I think he not only changed peoples approrch to work but their mindset of it. Thank you for doing so.

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s thanks to Paul that my entire woodworking outlook and practice changed. I was lucky enough to spend time with him in Penrhyn, together with apprentices Phil and John.

    It is precisely because of Paul Sellers that so many woodworkers’ lives have changed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well written, and couldn’t agree more! His selflessness and ability to teach via the internet put him in a class by himself. He has spawned a whole host of hand tool users based on his work and his demonstration that you don’t need a huge amount of hand tools to do exceptional work. Thanks for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I grateful that the hand tool knowledge has been preserved and I’ve enjoyed learning it. I’ve made Mr Seller’s shooting board, poor man’s rabbet plane and dovetail marker.

    I can’t imagine doing much rip sawing. I have a bandsaw for that. Or an axe and wedges for riving things too heavy. Richard Maguire has a good rant on ripping and makes a case for a bandsaw. Even Mr. Seller has a band saw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aah, good ‘ole’ Richard. He’s disappeared from our screens a long while now. I’ve written to Helen and got no response. But yeah I agree with you on ripping, a bandsaw is definitely a much better option. I guess when you’re young like I once was, ripping by hand never posed a problem unless the wood was 2 inch or more thick

      Like

      1. I once ripped an 8ft oak log (6″-8″ thick) to try my 1st ripsaw sharpening. Its good to have the experience IMO. Maybe I’ll use the chainsaw to rip other green logs w/ gnarly grain.

        Riving is faster in most cases though.

        Like

Leave a comment