What Is It?

I received an email enquiry about a particular desk, which has left me puzzled. The desk’s unique feature is its back, which is designed with three panels adorned with ripple mouldings, a detail I’ve never encountered before. The intricate ripple mouldings, which require a significant amount of time to create, suggest that the desk was not intended to be placed against a wall but to be viewed from all angles. Another peculiar aspect is that it has a single shelf without any dividers, ruling out the possibility of it being a postal desk. Given the number of history enthusiasts who follow my blog, I’m hopeful that someone will be able to shed light on this mystery.

3 thoughts on “What Is It?

  1. Always interesting to see a surviving example of furniture with ripple moulding.

    That seems like it could put the age and origin of this desk as far back as1600s Netherlands or England, in the time of Moxon’s “waving engine”?

    Like

Leave a comment